Gala Celebration to Honor 2005 Recipients of Women in Leadership Technology Award

23 Distinguished Houston Women in Business Honored by the Association for Women in Computing (AWC)


HOUSTON, March 30, 2005 (PRIMEZONE) -- The InterContinental Houston location will be the home of the 7th Annual Gala dinner and reception honoring 23 Academic and Business women in Houston with the Leadership in Technology Award issued by the Houston Chapter of the National Association for Women in Computing (AWC).

Over the years AWC has recognized over 100 business and academic women throughout Houston. This year's winners -- twenty-three women from twelve companies -- are announced today. The Gala dinner and reception takes place at the InterContinental Houston Hotel on June 11, 2005. HP, Shell, netIQ, Duke Energy, Lyondell Chemical, Ajilon Consulting, BMC Software, Nordstrom, The Brandsoup Agency, Secure Living and Pro-Action Careers are generous sponsors of this year's event.

"We are proud of the women in Houston who continue to prove that women are successful and make a difference in the top echelons of corporate America. The gala award's scholarships to deserving young women by successful women in the field of technology. AWC and 2005 honorees are clearly 'lighting the young women's candles.' They are mentoring and providing opportunity, and nothing is lost to them. The Gala recognizes and presents the 'Women in Leadership Technology' award to Houston women who have gone above and beyond in the field of technology and through leadership have greatly contributed to their companies, peers, and community. By recognizing these women, AWC is 'lighting their candles,' this year's Gala theme," states Emily McAnally 2005 Gala Chair.

In 2004, Houston Gala guests, including business and political leaders, celebrated to a sold out crowd of more than 500 supporters of women in technology. This year more than 500 people are anticipated. Proceeds support the Kathi Bowles Scholarship for college students pursuing degrees in technology at Houston area universities.

"We are delighted to have Hewlett-Packard as our Platinum sponsor and Nordstrom as our Honoree Reception sponsor. We are grateful for the civic and community support which allows us to give scholarships to deserving college students in our Houston community," added Emily.

Below are listed the 2005 Honorees of the Leadership in Technology Award and their employers:

 Aurora Archer, Director, Marketing & Communication -- Hewlett-Packard
 Suncica Canic, Professor -- University of Houston
 Daniele Cuzin, Managing Consultant -- Schlumberger
 Cynthia M. Davis, Vice President, Information Risk Management -- 
 Amegy Bank
 Kathryn E (Kelly) Dayan, Director, Strategy & Planning - Hewlett-
 Janice Dorr, Director of Educational Services -- Houston Technology 
 Dawn Fitzgerald, Manager, Service Level Planning & Reporting -- BMC 
 Software, Inc.
 Catherine A. Flowers, Director, Operations Distributed Systems 
 Management -- BMC Software, Inc.
 Carol Hess-Nickels, Director, Technology Solutions Group Americas 
 Business Strategy, Planning & Operations - Hewlett-Packard
 Lorri Jefferson, Director, Systems Engineering -- Hewlett-Packard
 Roberta Kowalishin, Vice President, Information Technology -- 
 CapRock Communications
 Melanie Lynn Mainwaring, IS Global Programme Manager -- Shell Oil 
 Ann McMullan, Executive Director Educational Technology -- Klein ISD
 Margaret D. (Maggie) Montaigne, Global Account Manager -- Landmark 
 Division of Halliburton
 Cindy A. Norris, Project Management Professional and Consultancy 
 Management -- Shell Information Technology International
 Linda Ricca, Vice President -- Healthlink Incorporated
 Kimberly Richard, Manager, Americas eCommerce Operations & Web 
 Merchandising -- Hewlett-Packard
 Gloria Rooney, Senior Project Manager -- Professional Services - 
 Shell Information Technology International
 Rhonda B. Rubinstein, Director, Solution Alliances Marketing, 
 Enterprise Storage and Servers -- Hewlett-Packard
 Jan Scofield, Executive Vice President & Managing Director, 
 Technology -- Franklin Bank
 Roxanne Y. Staton, Manager of Sub-region/country Account Management, 
 Global Operations/IT Americas -- Hewlett-Packard
 Linda J. Thrower, Director, Customer Operations -- Hewlett-Packard
 Janet M. Vanderford, Global Change & Release Manager -- Equiva 
 Service, LLC/Shell Oil Products

About the Association for Women in Computing (AWC)

The National organization was formed in 1978 to encourage women in technology-related careers. The Houston chapter is among the largest and oldest in the country. Gala tickets can be purchased by the public at

The Association for Women in Computing logo can be found at:


Contact Data