BASIS Scottsdale Team Wins 2008 Arizona Middle School Science Bowl Competition

Team Heads to Denver to Compete for the National Title

PHOENIX, AZ--(Marketwire - April 21, 2008) - Team One from BASIS Scottsdale were crowned 2008 Arizona Middle School Science Bowl Champions this past Saturday, April 19, 2008, on the campus of Arizona State University. The winning team included students Ivan Iotzov, Alexis Abboud, Sandeep Subramanian, Morgan Davis and Kenny Hulpach led by advisor coach Patrick Kolb. The team from Madison Park School came in second place and Chandler Preparatory Academy took home third place honors.

A record eighteen teams from across Arizona competed in a head-to-head Jeopardy-styled competition to win an all-expensed paid trip to the U.S. Department of Energy's National Science Bowl in Denver, Colorado, June 19 - 22, 2008. The National Science Bowl® is a nationwide academic competition that tests students' knowledge in all areas of science. Teams compete in a round-robin format and then advance through multiple rounds of single-elimination until the champions prevail.

The Arizona teams competing for coveted title represented BASIS Scottsdale, BASIS Tucson School, Chandler Preparatory Academy, Coronado Elementary, Desert Ridge Junior High School, Emily Gray Junior High School, Kyrene Altadena Middle School, Madison Park School, Oakwood, Veritas Preparatory Academy, Vista Verde Middle School and Westwind Academy.

"We are very proud of every student and coach that participated in the exhilarating Science Bowl competition and above all want to congratulate the winning Team One from BASIS Scottsdale," said Steve Zylstra, president & CEO of the Arizona Technology Council. "We are honored to host this event with our sponsors Televerde and Solugenix. It is a fun learning experience for students who have a passion for math, science and technology and the competition highlights the wide array of Arizona career opportunities for students dedicated to these fields of study."

Governor Napolitano officially declared April 19, 2008 as "2008 Arizona Middle School Science Bowl Day" to celebrate the youth of Arizona and the State's continuous commitment recognize the important of science and math education.


The Arizona Technology Council is the largest technology association in Arizona serving all technology sectors across the state representing nearly 500 member companies. The Arizona Technology Council is a member-driven, private, not-for-profit technology trade association. The Council focuses on the interests of technology companies, support firms, educational institutions and state-wide economic development groups that collectively form Arizona's technology community. For more information, visit

Contact Information: Media Contact: Jamie Glass Artful Thinkers 602.369.5537