2015 NAIA Women's Soccer National Championship Qualifiers & Opening Round Schedule Announced

Five teams make their Championship debut

KANSAS CITY, Mo., Nov. 16, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- (Championship Schedule | Video AnnouncementBracket) The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics has officially announced the teams and Opening Round pairings for the 2015 NAIA Women's Soccer National Championship. The 31-team event will get underway with 15 National Championship Opening Round matches at campus locations on Nov. 21.

The 2015 Opening Round winners and championship host Mobile (Ala.) advance to the national championship final site in Orange Beach, Ala. Action at the Orange Beach Sportsplex runs Nov. 30 – Dec. 5.

This year's field includes 24 automatic qualifiers and 7 at-large selections. Automatic berths were given to teams that either won their respective conference tournament title, regular-season championship or finished runner-up at the conference tournament. The at-large bids were determined by the final Modified Ratings Percentage Index (MRPI) announced Monday. The MRPI can be found HERE.

The NAIA Network – the association's official video streaming home – will broadcast all 15 matches live at the 2015 NAIA Women's Soccer National Championship final site in Orange Beach, Ala. The video platform, powered by Stretch Internet, allows users access to live video, statistics, and social interaction on a number of devices, including mobile. Single day passes can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-championship package is available at $29.95. For more information and the pre-register, click here.

Qualifier Highlights

  • Westmont (Calif.) makes its 18th all-time appearance, which leads all 2015 qualifiers. Westmont owns a 31-7-8 overall record at the championship and has accounted for the most championships all-time with five.
  • Fifteen teams from the 2014 NAIA Women's Soccer National Championship are in the field again this year. 
  • Five teams make their first championship appearance – Point Park (Pa.), Grace (Ind.), Eastern Oregon, Campbellsville (Ky.) and Georgia Gwinnett. 
  • Defending national champion Lindsey Wilson makes its 17th all-time appearance. The Blue Raiders have finished in the top 3 nine times, including four national championships. They have won two of the last three titles. 
  • The Golden State Athletic Conference and Southern States Athletic Conference lead all leagues with three teams represented in the field. 
  • Lindsey Wilson holds the longest active streaks of appearances in the championships, as 2015 will mark the Blue Raiders 15th consecutive appearance, dating back to 2001.
  • Martin Methodist has the second longest active streak of consecutive appearances with 11 dating back to 2004. 
  • Biola makes its third appearance, the first since 2004, which snaps the longest drought of the qualifying teams.

Opening Round Schedule 
Saturday, Nov. 21 | Campus Sites

Match 1 – Point Park (Pa.) at Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Match 2 – Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) at Kansas Wesleyan
Match 3 – Park (Mo.) at Grace (Ind.)
Match 4 – Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) at Westmont (Calif.)
Match 5 – Biola (Calif.) at Eastern Oregon
Match 6 – Ashford (Iowa) at Campbellsville (Ky.)
Match 7 – Trinity International (Ill.) at Benedictine (Kan.)
Match 8 – Morningside (Iowa) at Northwestern Ohio
Match 9 – St. Ambrose (Iowa) at Hastings (Neb.)
Match 10 – Reinhardt (Ga.) at Keiser (Fla.)
Match 11 – Science & Arts (Okla.) at Martin Methodist (Tenn.)
Match 12 – Carroll (Mont.) at Spring Arbor (Mich.)
Match 13 – Viterbo (Wis.) at Baker (Kan.) 
Match 14 – Columbia (Mo.) at Vanguard (Calif.)
Match 15 – Georgia Gwinnett at William Carey (Miss.)

For more information on the 2015 NAIA Women's Soccer National Championship Opening Round and final site, click here.


Contact Data