UPDATE -- Awards Ceremony Sponsored by SECU Foundation Honors State Government Employees

RALEIGH, N.C., Oct. 26, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Twenty individuals were recently honored with the Governor’s Awards for Excellence at a ceremony hosted by the Office of State Human Resources and sponsored by the member-funded SECU Foundation.  Honorees were nominated by their peers for the award, which recognizes staff members for their extraordinary accomplishments or meritorious service to the State and citizens of North Carolina, and is the highest privilege a state employee may receive.  SECU Foundation Board Chair Cynthia Jolly welcomed guests to the ceremony held at the North Carolina Museum of History in Raleigh, with officials from State Employees’ Credit Union (SECU) and the Foundation also in attendance.

Ms. Jolly remarked, “There is no doubt that North Carolina’s state employees are invaluable in their roles as public servants.  Their passion and outstanding commitment to others are an inspiration to their colleagues, fellow citizens, and communities throughout the state.  On behalf of all Credit Union members, SECU Foundation is proud to sponsor the awards ceremony and convey our genuine support and appreciation for the contributions made by these distinguished individuals.”

“These state employees demonstrate compassion for their fellow North Carolinians and an unselfish devotion to serving our state,” Governor Roy Cooper said.  “They put others first, and make life in North Carolina better as a result.  Today’s honorees have gone the extra mile to make a positive and lasting difference.”

The 2018 Governor’s Awards for Excellence were presented in the following categories – Customer Service, Efficiency and Innovation, Human Relations, Outstanding State Government Service, Public Service, and Safety and Heroism.  Recipients include:

Customer Service – Michael Last (University of North Carolina at Wilmington); Efficiency and Innovation – Brian Maney (University of North Carolina, System Office); Team of Robert Leon, Tony Danks, Tracey L. Goodwin, Tass W. Jansen, Sharon Jones, Jamie Lamar Murphy, and William G. Robbins, II (Department of Public Safety/Correction Enterprises); Dane Johnston (North Carolina State University); David Josephus (North Carolina State University); Human Relations – Tanya J. Dearmon (Department of Revenue); Outstanding State Government Service – Roy Jackson Marshall, III (Department of Natural and Cultural Resources); Public Service – A. Michelle Bryant (Department of Public Safety); Paula C. Gillikin (Department of Environmental Quality); Safety and Heroism – Dwight L. Braswell (Department of Public Safety), Rick Dickerson (Department of Health and Human Services), Megan Kathleen Hess (Department of Public Safety), Cory M. Hinkle (Department of Public Safety, National Guard), David Setser (North Carolina State University).

About SECU and the SECU Foundation
A not-for-profit financial cooperative owned by its members, SECU has been providing employees of the State of North Carolina and their families with consumer financial services for 81 years.  The Credit Union also offers a diversified line of financial advisory services including retirement and education planning, tax preparation, insurance, trust and estate planning services, and investments through its partners and affiliated entities.  SECU serves over 2.3 million members through 265 branch offices, nearly 1,100 ATMs, 24/7 Member Services via phone and a website, www.ncsecu.org.  The SECU Foundation, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization funded by the contributions of SECU members, promotes local community development in North Carolina primarily through high impact projects in the areas of housing, education, healthcare and human services.  Since 2004, SECU Foundation has made a collective financial commitment of more than $154 million for initiatives to benefit North Carolinians statewide.

Contact:  Jama Campbell, Executive Director
Office:  919-839-5562 | secufoundation@ncsecu.org