Electronic Security Association (ESA) Seeks Applications for 2019 Scholarship for Children of First Responders

Scholarships to Support the Futures of the Sons and Daughters of First Responders

Irving, TX, Nov. 09, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Electronic Security Association (ESA) is inviting the daughters and sons of America’s first responders to submit applications for its 2019 Youth Scholarship Program.

The first-place national winner will be awarded a $7,500 scholarship and the second-place national winner will be awarded a $2,500 scholarship.

“ESA and the electronic security industry is intimately connected with first responders and public safety officials,” says Chris Mosley, president of ESA. “We recognize the sacrifice and dedication that these men and women contribute to our everyday public safety in all of our communities. This annual scholarship award is our way of honoring these heroic individuals.”

Since its launch in 1996, more than $700,500 has been awarded to students by ESA and its participating chapters.

How to Enter
The Youth Scholarship Awards are based on a combination of academic achievement, national test scores, extracurricular participation and a personal essay on “What it means to me to have my parent or guardian involved in securing our community.” In addition to completing the application and submitting the 500 to 1,000-word essay, students must submit the appropriate documentation, which includes:

• Official high school transcripts

• Official SAT/ACT scores

• College acceptance letter

• Resume

• Letter of recommendation from high school counselor, teacher or outside agency

• Proof of parent's occupation, either a copy of ID or supervisory letter on station letterhead is acceptable

• Completed Community Service Form

ESA’s Youth Scholarship Program is a partnership between the national organization and its state chapters.

This year, 16 ESA state chapters will take part in the Youth Scholarship Program. Students who live in a participating state must apply directly to their ESA Chapter. The first-place winner of each Chapter’s program is automatically considered for the national ESA Youth Scholarship Program Award.

Participating states include: California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Louisiana, Nevada (Clark County Residents Only), New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.

Students who live in a state without an ESA Chapter or in a non-participating state should submit their application directly to ESA. ESA will select a winner from these applications and that winner will automatically be considered for the national award.

All winners of the state and ESA awards will be considered for the overall scholarship of: $7,500 first place and $2,500 second place.

The deadline to apply to ESA is Friday, March 1, 2019. Students can submit their application to the program on the ESA website.

Click here to learn more about ESA’s Youth Scholarship Program.



Established in 1948, ESA is the largest trade association in the United States representing the electronic life safety and security industry. Member companies install, integrate and monitor intrusion and fire detection, video surveillance and electronic access control systems for commercial, residential, industrial and governmental clients. In cooperation with an alliance of chapter associations, ESA provides technical and management training, government advocacy and delivers information, advice, tools, and services that members use to grow their businesses and prosper. Together, ESA member companies employ more than 500,000 industry professionals and serve more than 34 million residential and commercial clients.www.ESAweb.org


2018 Youth Scholarship Winner Naomi Hess receives her scholarship award at the 2018 Electronic Security Expo in Nashville.

Contact Data